

The Senate

2024-25

Authors: Office of the Vice-Chancellor

Publication date: 1 August 2024

Version: 5.0

Table of Contents

Senate	2
Ex Officio members	2
Appointed	3
Elected Members	3
Co-opted Members	4
Student Members	4
Observers	5
Faculty Deans Undergraduate	5
Faculty Deans Research	5
Faculty Deans Postgraduate	5
Officers in attendance	5

Senate

Ex Officio members

Acting Vice-Chancellor

Professor Maria Fasli

Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Professor Neil Kellard

Pro-Vice-Chancellors

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education): Professor Larra Anderson

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research): Professor Chris Greer

Deans

Executive Dean (Arts and Humanities): Professor Sanja Bahun

Acting Executive Dean (Science and Health): Professor Graham Underwood

Executive Dean (Social Sciences): Professor John Preston

Partnerships (Education): Dr Annecy Lax

Postgraduate Research and Education: Professor Shane Martin

Heads of Department/School

Department of Economics, Professor Carlos Carrillo Tudela

Department of Government, Professor Faten Ghosn

Department of Language and Linguistics, Dr Tracey Costley (until 17 December 2024); Jessie Mallinson (from 18 December 2024)

Department of Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies, Matthew De Abaitua

Department of Psychology, Professor Silke Paulmann

Department of Psychoanalysis and Psychoanalytic Studies: Dr Jessica Battersby

Department of Sociology and Criminology, Professor Linsey McGoey

Senate Page 2 of 5

East 15 Acting School, Dr Chris Main

Edge Hotel School, Professor Marcus Stephenson

Essex Business School, Professor Claudia Girardone

Essex Law School, Professor Onyeka Osuji

Essex Pathways, Fiona Elsted

Institute for Social and Economic Research: Professor Meena Kumari

School of Health and Social Care, Professor Winifred Eboh

School of Life Sciences, Professor Terence McGenity

School of Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science, Professor Spyridon Vrontos

School of Philosophical, Historical, and, Interdisciplinary Studies, Dr Matthew Grant

School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering, Professor Reinhold Scherer (until 31 March 2025) / To be confirmed (from 1 April 2025)

School of Sport, Rehabilitation and Exercise Sciences: Professor Nelson Cortes

The UK Data Archive, Joanne Webb

Appointed

Academic Registrar, Richard Stock

Elected Members

Professor Thankom Arun

Professor Fabian Freyenhagen

Professor Hannah Gibson

Dr Georgi Grahovski

Dr Raynee Gutting (until 31 January 2025)

Dr Laurie James-Hawkins

Professor Timo Jütten

Dr Olayinka Lewis

Senate Page 3 of 5

Dr Alastair Litterick

Dr Rick O'Gorman

Dr Brandon Reeder

Professor Martin Reed

Professor Róisín Ryan-Flood

Dr Stevphen Shukaitis

Dr Christoph Siemroth

Dr ZhiMin Xiao (from 1 February 2025)

Professor Ting Xu

Co-opted Members

Chief Information Officer, Ian Arbuthnot

Director of Library and Cultural Services and University Librarian, Jonathan White

The Dean, Undergraduate Education: Professor Dominic Micklewright

Student Members

President of the Students' Union, Colchester Campus: Lily-May Cameron (until 30 June 2025)

Vice-President of the Students' Union (Education): Joe Holmes (until 30 June 2025)

Faculty Convenors (3):

Arts and Humanities: Jenny West (until 30 June 2025)

Science and Health: Natalie Denham (until 30 June 2025)

Social Sciences: Miriam Mebrahtu (until 30 June 2025)

Postgraduate Convenor: Chloe Jeffery (until 30 June 2025)

Two student members from within the Sabbatical Officers of the Students' Union nominated for the year by the President of the Students' Union and approved by the Students' Union Trustees:

Guilherme Banari (until 30 June 2025)

Oluwanifemi Wilson-Adu (until 30 June 2025)

Senate Page 4 of 5

Observers

Dean of Integrated Health and Care Partnerships: Professor Vicky Joffe

Dean of Postgraduate Taught Education: Barry Pryer

Dean of Partnerships (Research): Professor Stavroula Karapapa (from 1 January 2025)

Faculty Deans Undergraduate

Faculty of Arts and Humanities: Dr Anna Hardiman-McCartney

Faculty of Science and Health: Dr Louise Beard

Faculty of Social Sciences: Dr Laurie James-Hawkins

Faculty Deans Research

Faculty of Arts and Humanities: Dorina-Maria Buda

Faculty of Science and Health: Professor Edward Codling

Faculty of Social Sciences: Professor Thankom Arun

Faculty Deans Postgraduate

Faculty of Arts and Humanities: Dr Lisa Smith

Faculty of Science and Health: Dr Michael Kampouridis

Faculty of Social Sciences: Dr Allyson Benton

Dean of Postgraduate Taught Education: Barry Pryer

Faculty Managers

Arts and Humanities: Carly Peaston-Hart

Science and Health: Alex Seabrook

Social Sciences: Emma Stock

Officers in attendance

Registrar and Secretary: Bryn Morris

Deputy Academic Registrar: Emma Hardy

Senate Page 5 of 5